365 Wallpapers

A.D.D. Desktopping

Wall 365: Mirror

with 3 comments

Don’t look at this wallpaper.  Grab a phone, or a digital camera, or a pen and paper, and capture your image in the bathroom mirror.  Make that your wallpaper today.

You.  Yes you.  All of you.  It would be easy and typical of me to say that I did this  for myself.  And yes, part of that is true.  But I doubt my resolve if faced with a year’s worth of no views, no comments, no downloads.  It’s much harder, and truer, for me to say that I did it for each and every one of you.  There were no off days.  There were no other shifts.  Whenever I wavered in resolve all I had to do was think of everyone eager to get their ADD desktop fix.

I know exactly what it feels like to have a small little haven on the web.  A place to go, every day, or at some other interval, that you can rely on as something welcome.  I have them.  And I hope I’ve created one for some of you.  Even if it’s a ten second visit, it’s a part of your day that I can impact with value.

Here’s some stats:

I’d say that’s pretty healthy growth if you ask me.  I’d like to know why the dip in November and December occurred, as well as the subsequent rebound/new growth.

After that they get pretty similar from day to day.  Some trends.  At first I thought the lower later wall post visits indicate less downloads.  I thought this since a download requires clicking to a specific page and then the image again for full size.  In  actuality, you can get to the full size download from the homepage.  Perhaps many of you learned this as I did too.  The vast majority of people browsed the home page, though a lot of early posts got many views too.  I wonder how much intentional SEO was at work.  I wonder how much the success of a wallpaper has to do with its post number.  Clearly early walls received more *actual* views, despite the gradual incline of Homepage views….  Maybe I got worse or people became bored.  *shrug*

So, what’s next?

I will provide ALL wallpapers as one download in the near future.

http://www.rubegoldbergadvice.com/

I may post a wallpaper from time to time.  So come back infrequently.

-

-

-

-

Thanks again, everyone.

-Brian

Written by brianmz

February 1, 2010 at 9:04 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. congrats! It was an awesome run. Thank you. #273 was my favorite, although somtimes i change my mind to #240. Very, very cool.

    jimmy

    February 2, 2010 at 7:21 am

  2. Congratulations Brian! Its really not easy to commit to something daily for a whole year! :D

    Mandy

    February 2, 2010 at 10:38 am

  3. Awesome Brian. I’m so proud of you for completing this, especially when you had to go to a restaurant at times to gain access! I knew you could accomplish this. Thanks for all of the time and effort you put into it. I always looked forward to a new surprise every day.

    This is my new favorite since it is the end and the beginning of new adventures. And…it’s so clear and cool!

    Good luck with your future endeavors.

    Me

    lm

    February 2, 2010 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

