365 Wallpapers

A.D.D. Desktopping

Wall 37: Fruition

with 4 comments

fruition

Let’s all do a little dance!

[dancing takes place]

okay, now that our Ellen moment of the day is over, down to business.

Stephanie Meyer is awesome.  Everytime I mention her name or her amazing series of realistically realized characters, Twilight, I get hits on my blog.  Here’s a random analysis of a Twilight excerpt (so no one can accuse me of SEO):  

As anyone with a college diploma could discern, page 10 of Twilight contains sentences.  These sentences, organized rididly into paragraphs, contain words of different categories.  Chief among them are nouns and verbs, the very building blocks of any good thought.  Thinking critically, readers can focus further on the elegant prose and find adjectives and adverbs, prepositions and interjectives.  Close reading reveals punctuation as well. 

At least I hope… I’ve heard some things… http://community.sparknotes.com/index.php/2009/02/05/stephanie-meyer-cant-write-worth-a-darn/

Tune in next week, when, with any luck, another page of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series will be grammatically scrutinized.   Will more parts of speech be found?

And now, I’m going to finish some Java.  Consider this distraction over for another 24 hours.  Go do something too.

Written by brianmz

March 10, 2009 at 10:05 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is it bad that I’ve read the whole series (cowering in the corner)…In my defense I read quality materials as well!

    Mandy

    March 10, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    • It may be entertaining on some level, but it ain’t no Ayn Rand (waiting for flames to start). I just think the correlation between Twilight mentions and 365wallpapers is silly fun.

      brianmz

      March 10, 2009 at 1:15 pm

      • There is not necessarily a direct correlation between well written (or otherwise created) material and its overall entertainment value.

        Take reality TV. I love America’s Next Top Model (I tell myself it is because of the photography, being a photog myself), but I would never argue on the side of it being fine art. Thus the guilty pleasure.

        I will take Mr. King’s word on just about anything. If he says she sucks, she sucks. But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like the books.

        And really, when has anything directed at young adults (especially tweener girls) ever been gracefully constructed?

        Benjamin

        March 10, 2009 at 3:24 pm

        • A well thought-out counterpoint. I’m going back to watching Arrested Development now, which is another story altogether.

          related: http://xkcd.com/552/

          brianmz

          March 10, 2009 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

