365 Wallpapers

A.D.D. Desktopping

Wall 255: PSA

with 5 comments

PSA

Now, I see many informative articles on the Internet every day.  Bloggers spend a lot of extra time citing their sources with links for even the smallest of claims.  It helps build the legitimacy of their written word.  Their arguments are logical and appeal to the academic.

This is not one of those blog posts.

Has anyone noticed the medical community, and by marionette, the media, completely waffling on H1N1?

In my recent memory:

  • Pregnant women more at risk than most.
  • Young children more at risk than most.
  • Teen hit worse than thought by H1N1.
  • Obese more at risk than most.
  • Middle aged adults hit worse than thought by H1N1.
  • Children now need two doses of the H1N1 vaccine instead of one.

What do all these emerging studies and headlines mean?

No one knows a damn about this virus.  The size of initial studies is far too small to justify any conclusions, positive or negative.

That means the vaccine too, folks.  There has been such a unnerving panic brought about by this flu strain that the public needs some respite.  Some reprieve.  Some feeling of security.

The last time a doctor told me to take medication, this summer, I had Shiga Toxin producing E.Coli.  The doc told me to start antibiotics right away, and took a test sample.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8 days later the *results* came in, contraindicating the use of antibiotics.  Antibiotics could have killed me by spreading the infection throughout my body.

Good thing I didn’t listen to him.

All I’m saying is, please, please trust yourself.  Use your mind.  Don’t cite those sources.

Make your own.

Written by brianmz

October 14, 2009 at 8:09 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for your post! I am getting really sick of people making uneducated decisions based on haphazard ‘evidence’.

    I feel like part of the problem is that people are losing the ability to think critically. I don’t know when or how that happened, but I can say that a solid upbringing (thanks mom and dad!) combined with a higher education has taught me how to think critically about this stuff.

    Too many people just put blind trust in the media and their doctors. We were all glad that you had taken the actions you did this summer and disregarding the Rx your doctor provided – most people wouldn’t have challenged the doctor at all or just taken the medication. We all have to be our own advocates for our health and wellbeing.

    The H1N1 vaccine, as you mentioned, has not been tested on a large enough population to understand whether it is effective or not. Until then, I won’t be getting it and I have been encouraging my friends and family to seriously reconsider whether they should get the shot or not. I’ve been a bit concerned on how the pharmaceutical companies are likely cashing out on this whole mess.

    Mandy

    October 15, 2009 at 6:50 pm

  2. Excellent advice. You should post this on You Tube or somewhere, so many people could read it. Maybe a commercial, like the WVC. :)

    lm

    October 15, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  3. This was posted the day after my brother died of H1N1. He was 14.

    Christy Taylor

    January 24, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    • Hey Christy. I am sorry to hear about your loss. Life is short, and I am trying SO HARD to get to a point where I actually understand that truly. My thoughts will be with you.

      brianmz

      January 29, 2012 at 11:57 am


Leave a Reply

