365 Wallpapers

A.D.D. Desktopping

Wall 278: Winona

with one comment

Winona

I will never buy a book affiliated with Informit or Safari Books Online again.  I am spoiled.  I am rational.

When I buy a book these days, I want a free electronic version.  I have come to expect it.  Hell, even college textbooks come with this nice feature.  They are free, have advanced topics, source code, and additional exercises or answers.  I bought “Programming in Python 3” (I know, 2.X is still alive and kicking), and was happy to see the info in the back about the online copy during my $44.99 purchase.

I went to their site.  Gotta enter a code, no biggie.  Proves I own it right?

Wrong.  Gotta register for a free trial.  Okay, gotta jump through one hoop so they get some info about me.  No biggie.  I’ll be up and running in no time.

Oops.  It’s only a 45 day free trial.  Wait, what?  What happens after that?

I have to pay an additional 22-44 dollars for content after that period expires.

There is no way this is winning me over.

Now, I know the Internet is probably a better resource in the first place, but I like the convenience of a direct reference.  Especially in unfamiliar territory.  Code snippets in this book end in…

were you expecting something?  I was too.  But not many are complete.  Go online to see the full source!

Lesson learned I guess.  Consider yourself warned.  Invest in a cup of coffee at that bookstore and get familiar with that book you are about to buy….

Written by brianmz

November 6, 2009 at 11:19 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry about your experience with the book purchase. Winona is wild though. I love the Friday female titles. It’s always interesting what name you choose. Where did you get this one?

    lm

    November 11, 2009 at 11:05 pm


Leave a Reply

